Whitmer appoints members for NMU, Ferris and Western Boards

Governor Gretchen Whitmer announced the following appointments to the Ferris State University Board of Trustees, the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees, and the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University

Melissa A Holmquist, of Marquette, is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Upper Peninsula Health Plan. She has worked for the UP Health Plan since 2002, first as a receptionist, then over time to becoming Assistant Director of Operations, Director of Government Programs and Chief Operating Officer. Ms. Holmquist is Treasurer of InvestUP, Vice President of the Marquette Economics Club and a member of the Marquette Ambassadors. She earned her Bachelor of Science in Psychology and her Master of Arts in Education from Northern Michigan University.

Ms. Holmquist is appointed for a term of office from February 18, 2022 to December 31, 2026. She succeeds Donna Murray-Brown, who has resigned.

Ferris State University Board of Trustees

Michael Ryan, Ph.D., of Big Rapids, is a former professor for the Ferris State University Department of Biological Sciences. dr Ryan retired in 2017 after teaching at Ferris for 40 years. During his time at Ferris, Dr. Ryan President of the Ferris Faculty Association and a member of the Board of Directors of the Michigan Education Association, the Board of Directors of the Michigan Association for Higher Education and several Ferris State Committees. In his retirement, Dr. Ryan is a board member of the Sister Celeste Derr Foundation and a volunteer with the Big Rapids Friends of the Library. He has a Ph.D. in Microbiology from SUNY at the Buffalo School of Medicine, a Master of Science in Biology from Duquesne University and a Bachelor of Arts in Biology from St. Vincent College.

dr Ryan is appointed for a term from February 18, 2022 to December 31, 2026. He succeeds Kari Sederberg, who has resigned.

Board of Trustees of Western Michigan University

JonHoadley, of Kalamazoo, is an independent consultant and the Membership Engagement Director for the Michigan Donor Alliance. He was previously the state representative for the 60th House District and minority vice chairman of the Appropriations Committee and a member of the Subcommittee on Higher Education and Community Colleges. Prior to serving in the House of Representatives, Mr. Hoadley was President of Badland Strategies, LLC and worked for other not-for-profit organizations. He is involved in a number of nonprofit organizations including CARES HIV/AIDS Service Organization, Mother of Hope, OutFront Kalamazoo, Equality Michigan and LGBT Detroit. Mr. Hoadley earned his Bachelor of Arts in Social Relations and Women’s Studies from Michigan State University and is currently pursuing his Masters of Business Administration degree from Western Michigan University.

Mr. Hoadley is appointed for a term from February 18, 2022 to December 31, 2024. He succeeds Ron Kitchen, who has resigned.

Article VIII § 6 of the Michigan Constitution of 1963 provides that Michigan’s colleges authorized by law to issue high school diplomas are each governed by a Board of Supervisors, which must be a corporation. The Board has general oversight of the institution and controls and directs all expenditures from the institution’s funds. The board also elects a president of the institution under its authority as often as necessary. Each oversight body consists of eight members who are appointed by the governor for eight-year terms.

These appointments are subject to the deliberation and approval of the Senate.

Comments are closed.