The Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce announces Teachers of the Year for DPS – Press and Guide

To commemorate 25 years of honoring Dearborn Educators, the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, with support from Dearborn Public Schools, recently recognized the winners of the Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Awards.

Prizes were awarded in five categories.

The award-winning teachers are Nate Brow from McDonald Elementary (grades before 2nd grade), Sarah Verrier from Howe Elementary (grades 3-5), Todd Colville from Unis Middle, Haiffa Mourad-Chamma from Dearborn High and Cathy Tade in adult education.

The Dearborn Chamber of Commerce hosted the awards presented by the LaFontaine Automotive Group. The ceremony at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center was attended by more than 200 teachers, who also had a chance to enter a special prize draw at the event.

Each of the five honorees received a $1,000 cash prize, a handcrafted glass apple prize from Dearborn’s Glass Academy, a season pass to the Dearborn Symphony, and memberships to the Henry Ford Museum of American Innovation, AAA, HYPE Athletics, and Crunch Fitness, along with several Gift cards for restaurants and shops in the area.

The chamber’s education committee, chaired by Philipp Emma, ​​selected the five winners from more than 2,000 nominations for more than 500 educators. The committee included dedicated members of the educational and business communities.

Comments are closed.